Skip to content
Home » Pontifical University of the Holy Cross (Rome)

Pontifical University of the Holy Cross (Rome)

The Pontifical University of the Holy Cross is an institution set up by the Holy See. It was started in 1984 by Opus Dei, with the aim of offering the universal Church an effective instrument for formation and research. It was born in the heart Rome and is open to priests, seminarians, religious and lay people, both men and women, from dioceses all over the world.

The University offers an ongoing formation both to its academic staff to students, with a particular focus on topics of current interest. The ratio of academic staff to students in one to nine. Most of the members of the academic staff hold degrees from both secular and ecclesiastical universities.

The University grants the degree in Sacred Theology with specialization in Dogmatic Theology, Moral Theology, Spiritual Theology, History of the Church, Liturgical Theology or Biblical Theology. It also grants degrees in Philosophy, Canon Law and Institutional Social Communications. (Read more at the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross’ website.)

Filipino seminarians sent by their Bishops for academic training at the University reside and undergo formation at the Sedes Sapientiae International Ecclesiastical College. Priest scholars, on the other hand, may stay in one of these residences (those with * are only for students of the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross):

  • Collegio Ecclesiastico Internazionale Tiberinum*
  • Torre Rosa*
  • Mater Christi*
  • Pontificio Collegio Filippino